Fall Favorites

And, we’re back!

I have been planning on creating a whole series of posts on my favorite fall foods for a while now. But then life happened. Somehow we got busy. We took a trip to Oregon to speak for Rapha House, which took prep time, travel time, and recovery time. Eating primal and learning to be healthier is just kind of what we do now, to the point where I forgot to share the fun.

What you really need to know is that I love fall. I love the crisp air and sweaters and scarves and boots and mountains dotted with color. Seattle, despite the darkness that has now taken over our evenings and the morning mist that has taken over our commute to work, is beautiful in the fall. The Emerald City shows its true colors, and it turns out that they are deep red and flaming orange and sunshine yellow. The last few falls in Missouri had been a sad, drab brown, with leaves so dry and pruney it seemed they should shatter when they fell to the ground. Needless to say, fall in Washington has been a nice change of pace.

Oh, and did I mention all the fabulous seasonal fruits and veggies that come with the changing of the seasons? Squash and pumpkin and zucchini, and don’t forget apples… I mean, we live in Washington, and these people don’t mess around with their apples. Below are links to some of my favorite fall recipes. Most of them are Primal, or can easily tweaked to be so, but are delicious for even the non-Primallers amongst us.

[All photos taken from their respective websites!]

Butternut Squash Soup

I.LOVE.THIS.SOUP. I use the recipe from Joy the Baker, but substitute a small butternut squash (peeled and cut into small cubes) for the carrots, and then estimate by smell how much ginger and garlic to add. The creaminess of the butternut squash contrasts with the tartness of the apples (I use Granny Smith) for a little soup party in your mouth. Seriously, go make this soup.

If you want something a little less involved (not that this soup is all that involved, really),  try butternut squash all by itself! Cut the butternut squash in half, remove the seeds, and roast it in a 350 degree oven for about 40 minutes. Once the flesh is soft, spoon it out into a bowl and mash it with some butter and salt. Yuuummmmm! Plus, butternut squash is an excellent source of vitamin C and vitamin A without the glycemic load of citrus fruits, making it a great, natural way to fight off the fall cold and flu.

Pumpkin Spice Latte

I’ve already admitted my love for the Pumpkin Spice Latte. Its like autumn in a cup, and on the often dreary Seattle mornings (okay, on any Seattle morning), autumn in a cup sounds like just the thing to lift my spirits. But the Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks has about as much sugar as a candy bar, which means bad news for my focus for the rest of the day. For this recipe, I used almond milk, for no other reason than that’s what I like, and homemade pumpkin puree (which can be made so easily using the same method as roasting the butternut squash and then pureeing everything but the rind and seeds). This recipe isn’t quite as sweet as a drink from Starbucks, but still oh-so-tasty. I would highly recommend making a large batch of this stuff!

Ratatouille

Who doesn’t love the Disney flick Ratatouille right? Well, the actual dish is just as delightful as the movie. Julie and I made this last night as a side dish paired with steak and chicken, but it can be made as a stand-alone entree if you aren’t as carnivorous as we are. And isn’t it pretty? Its icing on the cake when your food can be delicious, nutritious, AND pretty!

Baked Apples

Another Joy the Baker recipe. I love her blog. I love her food. Really, I’d say that I just love her, but that might be creepy. Most of her recipes are baked delicacies that I can no longer have, but then there are the occasional treats that can easily be modified for a Primal diet….like these roasted apples. Try honey or pure maple syrup, and in a smaller quantity, instead of the brown sugar for a guilt-free treat. Maybe hold off on the ice cream, too.

Squash or Sweet Potato Latkes

Does anyone else love potato hashbrowns, or is it just me? One of the hardest things for me to give up was white potatoes, partially because, well, I make some mean oven fries and crispy hashbrowns. A more nutritious substitute would be to fry zucchini, yellow squash, carrots, or sweet potatoes in olive or coconut oil: the produce a similar crispy, friedness without all the starch. One tip: he’s not kidding when he says get ALL of the water you can out of your shredded vegetables. Trust me.

Happy Fall!

One thought on “Fall Favorites

Leave a Reply

