Going Primal Day 29: Grilled peaches

I don’t feel so well today. It’s a girl thing.

So, I will keep it short and sweet with our new favorite dessert: grilled peaches.

I’m not sure it even constitutes as a recipe, it’s that easy. But here goes:

Cut your peaches in half ad remove the pit.

Sprinkle with cinnamon, nutmeg, and/or pumpkin pie spice. Pat the spices into the peach so it doesn’t fall off into the grill.

Place peaches cut-side down onto a hot grill. Heat for 4-5 minutes until there are grill marks and the peach is warmed to your satisfaction.

Enjoy!

If you are feeling extra fancy, you can pair them with raspberries or whip up some coconut cream as a topping:

You can buy canned coconut milk at any grocery store in the Asian foods section. Don’t shake it- the coconut milk will naturally separate with the cream on the top and the milky coconut water at the bottom.

Put the can of coconut milk in the refrigerator the morning you want to grill, or if you are forgetful like me, put the can in the freezer for a while (just make sure you don’t leave it too long…. I’ve done that too).

When you are ready to make the whipped cream, open the can and scoop out the cream on the top. It will look like this:

(That’s not my hand. I poached the it from the internet, like I do most of the photos on this blog. I mean, if you want to send me a fabulous new camera, I would happily take my own pictures!)

Whip the coconut cream with a hand mixer for a few minutes and voila!- dairy-free whipped cream!

(PS- you can whip in melted dark chocolate or vanilla extract to the cream, put it back in the refrigerator, and it will set up like mousse!)

Happy grilling, whipping, and mousse-ing!

Leave a Reply

