Going Primal Day 18: The Cheat… again.

I cheated… again.

I’m so ashamed.

(In my defense, it probably seems like I have been cheating a lot lately. But really, I only have been blogging about the days that I cheated. I had a taco salad on Friday and cheated today, so hopefully you won’t judge me too much.)

I woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning. Actually, I didn’t wake up much at all, which was the problem. I had a bizarre dream last night, in which my entire school decided to go Primal and I had to inventory how many avocados and pepperoncinis each class had. Images of vegetables and databases danced in my head all night, and to say the least,  it was not a restful night’s sleep.

I was so very tired when I finally dragged my sorry self to work, and by 10 am, my one cup of coffee had done nothing to wake up my brain. I try not to use coffee as a morning crutch, but I do enjoy taking coffee to work as part of my morning routine. Today, however, I wanted, nay, needed caffeine (or so I thought).

So I decided to run to Starbucks and get an americano- espresso and water, totally Primal (my desire to use caffeine as a stimulant, not so much). However, when I got there, this was waiting for me:

The Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte is back. Do you know what that means? IT’S OFFICIALLY FALL! Despite what you were told in school, fall does not start on a certain September day or at the changing of the leaves on the trees. It’s the Pumpkin Spice Latte that signals fall. And in my pre-Primal life, the Pumpkin Spice Latte was my favorite drink of all time.

It might be important to mention at this point that today was the first day that it was cool enough to wear boots. Which is the second sign that it is officially fall. I was sabotaged from the start.

You guessed it, I caved. I got a double tall pumpkin spice latte, no whip. In other words, I consumed 36 grams of sugar and a total of 38 grams of carbohydrates. In terms of sugar, and honestly, overall nutritional content, I might as well have drank a Snickers bar. Yikes.

Unlike our little trip to Taco Del Mar last week, in less than an hour, I felt the effect of pumping my body full of caffeine and sugary syrup. Yes, the drink was as delicious as I had remembered, but the sugar crash I experienced afterward left my brain even more sluggish than before, which was the exact opposite effect I was shooting for. (Not to mention the espresso roughed up my stomach pretty bad. Pretty bad.)

I don’t feel guilty about the cheat, because guilt has no place in healthy living, but I have no desire to have a heavy, syrupy coffee drink in the near future.

So, I cheated, but tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

